Home / Politics / Vetting committee will be fair – Oquaye assures NPP aspirants

Vetting committee will be fair – Oquaye assures NPP aspirants

Ahead of the vetting of presidential hopefuls of the New Patriotic Party (NPP), the Chairman of the committee, Rev. Prof. Aaron Mike Oquaye, has assured that the committee will give a fair hearing to all the aspirants and also ensure a free, fair and transparent vetting process.

Prof. Oquaye explained that aside from ensuring that the aspirants met the qualifications as outlined in the 1992 Constitution, the committee would be thorough in the vetting process to ensure the aspirants also met the NPP’s criteria.

For instance, he said the committee would want to know if the candidate held dual citizenship and was a registered voter.

He said it included whether the aspirant was a registered party member; how long he had served the party and in what capacity and the contribution of the individual to the party.

Prof. Oquaye said the committee would also be touching on issues that could impact on the candidate’s eligibility and the chances of the party as a whole.

“It should be well noted that the findings of the committee will be in the form of conclusions and recommendations which will be forwarded ultimately to the National Council which has power to fully adopt or partly vary or wholly reject the findings,” he stated


Two of the frontrunners for the flag bearer position of the NPP for the 2024 presidential elections are schedule to meet the vetting committee of the party today.

John Alan Kwadwo Kyerematen and Vice-President, Dr Mahamudu Bawumia will meet the Prof. Aaron Mike Oquaye Committee at various times beginning 10a.m. with a third aspirant, Kwadwo Poku also appearing before the committee.

On Tuesday, July 4, 2023, three other aspirants, Boakye Kyeremateng Agyarko, former Energy Minister; Kwabena Agyei Agyepong, a former NPP General Secretary and Kennedy Ohene Agyapong, the NPP Member of Parliament for Assin Central will take their turn.

Three other flag bearer hopefuls, Dr Kofi Konadu Apraku, Dr Owusu Afriyie Akoto and Joe Ghartey, NPP MP for Essikado-Ketan will take their turn on July 5, 2023 with Francis Addai-Nimoh taking his turn on July 6, 2023.

The committee is expected to submit its report to the National Executive Committee through the General Secretary on Monday, July 10, 2023


About Adoa News

Check Also

Sankana Traditional Council confers traditional leadership title on Prof Opoku-Agyemang

Professor Naana Jane Opoku-Agyemang, running mate to the National Democratic Congress’ presidential candidate, John Dramani …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *